While perusing some of my favorite blogs, I read about many families enjoying lantern walks to celebrate Martinmas.  I had never heard of this tradition, it seems like a lot of Waldorf families celebrate this.  I liked the meaning behind it right away and set off to create this new to us tradition for our family.  I did a little research and found out that it was originally a christian celebration to honor St. Martin. Please correct me if I am wrong as I know most things actually started out as Pagan rituals.
I am sure there is way more to it and way more adaptions have been made.

I made it our own, we used this celebration to celebrate the first day of Advent.  We talked about how the winter months are soon approaching and that even though it is dark we need to let our light within us shine…  Here are two families that I first saw this idea from.

The making of a can lantern.

The making of a glass and tissue paper lantern.

Setting off for our night walk.  The weather was just perfect for our near two mile walk.

Enjoying a small treat at the park.  We can not get enough homemade popcorn around here!

The children really got this celebration.  This will definitely be our new way to celebrate Advent. It also inspired us to take more night walks and adventures!

